LP&LL Dec. ’18

The traditions of Christmas typically include gift buying for all that participate. Giving and receiving gifts at Christmas time isn’t something we have to do. But if we didn’t we would probably be in deep trouble with some of our family members and friends.  Imagine if your wife’s, husband’s, child’s, or someone else close to you, birthday rolled around and you didn’t get anything for them. You’d be up the creek without a paddle. This may be a sore subject for some of you. Some of you guys aren’t real comfortable with this subject because this may have actually happened a few years back.

Imagine if your children woke up on Christmas morning, rushed into the room where they traditionally found lots of presents on Christmas morning, and they found no gifts under or around the tree. What a disappointment it would be for them. I remember experiencing this type of disappointment one Christmas. Even though there were gifts to open on Christmas morning. There weren’t a lot in comparison to what I (maybe a little spoiled) was accustom to. I was probably about 11 or 12 years old. We woke up on Christmas morning. I put on my brand new blue flannel P.J.’s that my Grandmother had given me the night before at our Christmas Eve family get together. I rushed into the living room to look what wonderful gifts I would be opening and playing with. And there they were. My brother and I tore into a few gifts. I was so excited. Greatttt! I got the robot that transformed into an evil insect people eater. That was just what I wanted. Alright!!! I got the camouflage pants. Now I could hide in the woods with my neighborhood pals and be virtually undetectable by my brother’s crew of friends. We could bombard them with pine comb grenades and they’d have no idea where we were. O.K. I got some black socks to wear to church. Hey! I could wear these with my camouflage pants to increase my invisibility!

In the midst of my present opening, as I began to run out of presents to open, I began to watch my brother dig into his stuff. Hey! He got the camouflage pants too. Now he would be hiding out in the woods too, and terrorizing me and my friends as well. He got the black socks too. No robot that transformed into an evil insect people eater, instead he got a hand saw for fort building. Maybe I could borrow that from him sometime. Pretty soon all the gifts had been opened, and he and I began toying with our new gifts. It didn’t take long for me to figure out how to convert my robot into an insect. After all I had about a dozen other robot toys that were a lot like it. As my brother and I looked around the opened gifts we both began to get a strange feeling. And we began to ask that question that semi-spoiled kids ask at Christmas – Is this it? We made eye contact with a little bit of a puzzled look on our faces. I began to ponder the past years of Christmas mornings. Last year it seemed like we had gotten a lot more stuff. Didn’t we?

I think there are many people in the world like this. People that are asking that same question my brother and I were asking: they don’t ask with words. They sometimes reveal the question through the decisions they make. Through their lack of hope and meaning that translates in the way they live their lives. They’ve gone all their lives and now they want to know – Is this it? Is this all life has to offer? Is this all I’m going to get out of this life? These people are those who haven’t experienced the Hope, the Peace, the Joy, and the Love that we have been offered through Jesus Christ. They feel like they should be getting more out of their lives, they feel like something is missing, they are left puzzled unsure of why they aren’t getting more. Like me at age eleven thinking to past Christmases, they think back to times in their life when things were different. When things were better. But they have no idea how their lives can be different.

My Dad began to sense his boys’ confusion that Christmas morning. He knew we felt like something was missing. So he spoke up. “Guys, I think there is one more gift to open. It’s down in the basement. My step mom urged us to put on our new Christmas totes – those cool thick socks with the tread on the bottom. We ran like wild horses to the basement to see what gift awaited. It was the greatest gift I’d ever gotten:  A GO-CART. A fire engine red, single seat, 5-horse power, Go-cart. What I thought was going to be a big let-down sort of Christmas was actually the best Christmas ever! We as believers are kind of like my dad in my Christmas memory. We know where to find the greatest gifts. The Hope, the Peace, the Joy, and the Love: the greatest gifts are found through a relationship with Jesus Christ.

 

THIS CHRISTMAS SEASON – BE THE ONE TO SHARE GOD’S HOPE!

ISAIAH 9:6 For to us a child is born, to us a son is given, and the government will be on his shoulders. And he will be called Wonderful Counselor, Mighty God, Everlasting Father, Prince of Peace.

 

THIS CHRISTMAS SEASON – BE THE ONE TO SHARE GOD’S PEACE!

LUKE  2:13-14  Suddenly a great company of the heavenly host appeared with the angel, praising God and saying, “Glory to God in the highest, and on earth peace to men on whom his favor rests.”

 

THIS CHRISTMAS SEASON – BE THE ONE TO SHARE GOD’S JOY!

LUKE 2.10 But the angel said to them, “Do not be afraid. I bring you good news of great joy that will be for all the people.

 

THIS CHRISTMAS SEASON – BE THE ONE TO SHARE GOD’S LOVE!

JOHN 3:16 “For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life.”

 

LET US SHARE THE GREATEST GIFT: JESUS.

2 CORINTHIANS 9:12 This service that you perform is not only supplying the needs of God’s people but is also overflowing in many expressions of thanks to God. 13 Because of the service by which you have proved yourselves, men will praise God for the obedience that accompanies your confession of the gospel of Christ, and for your generosity in sharing with them and with everyone else. 14 And in their prayers for you their hearts will go out to you, because of the surpassing grace God has given you. 15 Thanks be to God for his indescribable gift!

 

AND ONE LAST THING… REMEMBER:

JAMES 1:17 Every good and perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of the heavenly lights, who does not change like shifting shadows.

 

 

MERRY CHRISTMAS,

 

 

 

 

Jeff Ford

Executive Director                                                                                                                      Catalyst Christian LC

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Weekday Classroom Updates………………………………………………….………. https://www.facebook.com/CatalystCLC/

Newsletter Archive………………………………………………………………………………….   https://catalystclc.wordpress.com/

 

C  A  T  A  L  Y  S  T              C  H  R  I  S  T  I  A  N             L  E  A  R  N  I  N  G             C  E  N  T  E  R

CCLC / PO BOX 1627 / CLEVELAND, GA 30528 // Phone: 706.865.0954 // Email: catalystclc1@gmail.com

Leave a comment